ICLEI - Local Governments for Sustainability



ICLEI - Local Governments for Sustainability
is an association of over 1220 local government Members who are committed to sustainable development. Our Members come from 70 different countries and represent more than 569,885,000 people.

ICLEI is an international association of local governments as well as national and regional local government organizations who have made a commitment to sustainable development.
ICLEI provides technical consulting, training, and information services to build capacity, share knowledge, and support local government in the implementation of sustainable development at the local level. Our basic premise is that locally designed initiatives can provide an effective and cost-efficient way to achieve local, national, and global sustainability objectives.

Founded in 1990

ICLEI was founded in 1990 as the 'International Council for Local Environmental Initiatives'. The Council was established when more than 200 local governments from 43 countries convened at our inaugural conference, the World Congress of Local Governments for a Sustainable Future, at the United Nations in New York.

About the name

The organization's name is 'ICLEI - Local Governments for Sustainability'. In 2003, ICLEI's Members voted to revise the organization's mission, charter and name to better reflect the current challenges local governments are facing. The 'International Council for Local Environmental Initiatives' became 'ICLEI - Local Governments for Sustainability' with a broader mandate to address sustainability issues.

Who are our members?

Explore this list to find out more about ICLEI members in Europe.

Armenia (1)

Austria (3)

Belgium (3)

Bulgaria (3)

Croatia (3)

Cyprus (1)

Czech Republic (1)

Denmark (6)

Estonia (1)

Finland (16)

France (13)

Georgia (1)

Germany (20)

Greece (3)

Hungary (4)

Iceland (1)

Ireland (1)

Israel (1)

Italy (13)

Latvia (2)

Netherlands (5)

Norway (14)

Poland (3)

Portugal (5)

Romania (5)

Russia (1)

Saudi Arabia (1)

Serbia (4)

Slovak Republic (1)

Spain (24)

Sweden (14)

Switzerland (4)

Turkey (3)

Ukraine (2)

United Kingdom (9)